



Preface

Technical Commission III

Jie Jiang ¹, Ahmed Shaker ², Hongping Zhang ³

- ¹ President of TC III, Beijing University of Civil Engineering and Architecture, China jiangjie@bucea.edu.cn
- ² Vice President of TC III, Ryerson University, Canada ahmed.shaker@ryerson.cn
- ³ Secretary, National Geomatics Center of China, China zhanghongping@ngcc.cn

The work of ISPRS Technical Commission III is devoted to remote sensing. For the XXIVth ISPRS CONGRESS, Technical Commission III received total 603 submissions 216 full papers and 387 abstracts. Among these submissions 107 are accepted as peer-reviewed contributions for publication in the ISPRS Annals, 218 were accepted for publication in the ISPRS Archives. There are 228 accepted submissions were withdrawn by authors due to the postpone of the Congress and other reasons.

These papers are dedicated mostly to topics of the 10 TC III working groups and 4 inter-commission working groups as follows — WG III/1: Thematic Information Extraction; WG III/2: Microwave Remote Sensing; WG III/3: SAR-based Surface Generation and Deformation Monitoring; WG III/4: Hyperspectral Image Processing; WG III/5: Information Extraction from LiDAR Intensity Data; WG III/6: Remote Sensing Data Fusion; WG III/7: Landuse and Landcover Change Detection; WG III/8: Remote Sensing of Atmospheric Environment; WG III/9: Cryosphere and Hydrosphere; WG III/10: Agriculture and Natural Ecosystems Modelling and Monitoring; ICWG III/II: Planetary Remote Sensing and Mapping; ICWG III/Iva: Disaster Assessment, Monitoring and Management; ICWG III/IVb: Remote Sensing Data Quality; ICWG III/IVc: Environment and Health. The papers and abstracts were evaluated by the experts in the field and Working Group Chairs according to content, significance, originality, relevance, and clearness of presentation.

We would like to thank the authors for their contributions, the reviewers for their reviewing, the working group officers for their efforts on calling for papers, and the organizers of the Congress for publishing this volume.

ISPRS TC III officers:

Saygin Abdikan Bulent Ecevit University, Turkey; Hussein M. Abdulmuttalib Dubai Municipality, UAE; Orhan Altan Istanbul Technical University, Turkey; Vittorio Barale DG Joint Research Centre, Italy; Luigi Barazzetti Politecnico Milano, Italy; **Árpád Barsi** Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary; **Thomas** Blaschke University of Salzburg, Austria; Anna Brook University of Haifa, Israel; Madhu Chandra Chemnitz University of Technology, Germany; Mattia Crespi University of Rome "La Sapienza", Italy; Michele Crosetto Centre Tecnològic de Telecomunicacions de Catalunya, Spain; Beata Csatho University at Buffalo, SUNY, USA; Kaichang DI Institute of Remote Sensing and Digital Earth, China; Fazlay S. Faruque University of Mississippi Medical Ctr, USA; Eija Honkavaara National Land Survey of Finland, Finland; Baoxin Hu York University, Canada; Guoman Huang Chinese Academy of Surveying and Mapping, China; Muralikrishna V. Iyyanki Defence Research and Development Organization, India; Susaki Junichi Kyoto University, Japan; Irina Karachevtseva Moscow University of Geodesy and Cartography, Russia; Konstantinos Karantzalos National Technical University of Athens, Greece; Ana Paula Baungarten Kersting Teledyne Optech, Canada; Pradeep Khatri Tohoku University, Japan; Brigitte Leblon University of New Brunswick, Canada; Rongxing (Ron) Li Tongji University, China; Zhenhong Li Newcastle University, UK; Xianlian Liang National Land Survey of Finland, Finland; Xiangguo Lin Chinese Academy of Surveying and Mapping, China; Diego Loyola German Aerospace Center, Germany; John B. Malone Louisiana State University, USA; Maria Teresa Melis University of Cagliari, Italy; Md. Surabuddin Mondal Wollega University, Ethiopia; Jürgen Oberst German Aerospace Center, Germany; Batuhan Osmanoglu NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, USA; Jaime Hernández Palma Universidad de Chile, Chile; Ammatzia Peled University of Haifa, Israel; Francesco Pirotti University of Padova, Italy; Ilkka Pölönen, University of Jyväskylä, Finland; Gang Qiao Tongji University, China; Kai Qin China University of Mining & Technology, China; Shibendu Shankar Ray Mahalanobis National Crop Forecast Centre, India; Bahram Salehi State University of New York, USA; Marco Scaioni Politecnico Milano, Italy; Uwe Soergel University Stuttgart, Germany; Tullio Joseph Tanzi Telecom ParisTech., France; Yves M. Tourre Anewworld and CNES, France; Serkan Ural Hacettepe University, Turkey; Jana Viessmann Chemnitz University of Technology, Germany; Bo Wu The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, HK China, Lixin Wu Central South University, China; Wei Yao The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, HK China; Mitsunori Yoshimura The University of Tokyo, Japan; Yongnian Zeng Central South University, China; Jixian Zhang National Quality Inspection and Testing Center for Surveying and Mapping Products, China; Guoging Zhou Guilin University of Technology, China.